Little Dragon’s Erik Bodin’s exclusive Huffington Post Playlist

“I don’t care if people have only heard the recent music,” Yukimi Nagano told The Huffington Post when asked what it’s like to see your 10-year-old band explode in a year or so. “But it is fun if people have followed the whole journey, or if they become curious and go back.”

Little Dragon’s music, spare yet mostly danceable, is a spacey blend of uptempo electropop and soulful vocals. It’s all held together by Nagano’s singing, though perhaps the most interesting thing about Little Dragon is how well they understand the value of the instrumental (on “When I Go Out” and “Please Turn,” for example, the vocals pop in and out like the here-and-there blares of a jazz master’s saxophone).

The band is Swedish, like Lykke Li and The Hives and Swedish House Mafia and Miike Snow, but to Nagano, it’s all just music. ” I think there’s a lot of interesting music coming out of Sweden, but I find out more abroad it when I’m abroad than when I’m home,” she said.

At what moments in a listener’s life does the band picture their music playing? “Definitely everything from people listening in headphones going to work and escaping, that kind of feeling,’ Nagano said. “But also at a party, cranked up, dancing. I think even if they’re contrasting scenarios, as long as it’s about releasing something and disappearing to another place, I’m okay with that.”

Little Dragon’s Erik Bodin’s Exclusive HuffPost Playlist

1. Cajmere – It’s Time for the Percolator
“It’s time to wake up!”

2. Big Boi – Shutterbug
“Now it’s really time to wake up!”

3. Cherelle – I Didn’t Mean to Turn You On
“Some funky American ’80s R&B.”

4. Bill Wyman – Je Suis un Rockstar
“A silly song but a beautiful beat.”

5. New Order – Blue Monday
“This song makes our bodies go crazy.”

6. Frank Ocean – Thinking About You
“This song is our last.”

7. Mike Francis – Survivor
“Sometimes lonely men in Italy get it right … sweet Italidisco.”

8. Fleetwood Mac – Everywhere
“Probably one of the most romantic songs ever.”

9. Slum Village – Forth and Back
“This song was played on repeat for a long while.”

10. Innocent – Addis Black Window
“Swedish hip hop from the ’90s!”

Download: Fan created Little Dragon remix tape

1. Little Man (Tycho Remix)
2. Blinking Pigs (Awkward Remix)
3. Ritual Union (Tensnake Remix)
4. Twice (Raw Tactics Remix)
5. Looking Glass (Trackademicks’ Quasar Gazer Remix)
6. Nightlight (Unknown Mortal Orchestra Remix)
7. Empire Ants (Korova Remix)
8. Fortune (AFTA-1 Remix)
9. After The Rain (Floating Points Remix)
10. Blinking Pigs (1-O.A.K.’s God Made Me Funky Remix)
11. Seconds (Syd The Kyd Remix)
12. Twice (Aaron Jerome Remix)
13. Looking Glass (Trackademicks’ Quasar Gazer Remix) (Instrumental)
14. A New (Tropics Remix)

Download here.

Audio: Little Dragon’s “Little Man” gets remixed by Tycho

“Little Dragon is looking to go a more unconventional route to push the latest single off their third album, Ritual Union. The Swedish synth-pop outfit will issue limited cassette singles of “Little Man” that you will only be able to purchase at the Rough Trade East shop in London. Um, yeah, make that super limited then, though luckily Hypetrak has come through with one of the remixes set to appear on the tape. Bay Area producer Tycho has put his own minimalist, shuffling take on “Little Man” that’s reminiscent of the work we heard on his great new album, Dive.” Source.

Streaming: Little Dragon live at Electronic Beats Festival, Cologne

“Little Dragons are a totally unique alt-pop group hailing from Gothenburg in Sweden. Made up of high school friends Yukimi Nagano, Erik Bodin, Fredrik Källgren Wallin and Håkan Wirenstrand the group have been recording music together since the mid nineties, although the first Little Dragon single was not released until 2006.”

“Currently they have two fantastic albums under their belts – their self-titled debut and Machine Dreams. They have also collaborated with the likes of Koop, Andreas Saag and The Gorillaz. Their sound is infused with the otherworldly and brings together abstract electronic sounds, driving percussion and heartfelt lyrics into a dazzling pop confection.”

“This radio session is a recording of the bands opening set at the Electronic Beats Festival Cologne and is a fantastic performance that captures their richly detailed sound.”

Click here to listen to the streaming show.

Want to remix DJ Shadow and Little Dragon’s “Scale It Back”?

The official Remix Competition for DJ Shadow’s “Scale it Back” featuring Little Dragon. Download the stems, create your own remix of the track, and upload it to this page!

“Following the success of last year’s remix project at, Shadow has taken a fan favorite from the new album, “The Less You Know, The Better”, and made it available for ALL to remix! The track is “Scale It Back,” featuring Little Dragon, and the stems are available for download to all remixers and producers worldwide. This is the first time Shadow has ever made official track stems available to the public, so take up the challenge and show us what you can do. The winning entry will appear as part of an official DJ Shadow remix package through Island Records!”

“Simply download the stems, work your magic, and create the best remix you can. Then, come back to this page to upload your work. Whatever your style: hip-hop, rock, electronic, dubstep, or drum and bass, ALL entries will be considered. Shadow himself will select a winner from the top remix submissions, so be on your game! Note: Please only upload high quality audio in WAV or AIFF formats. If you are experiencing any issues uploading tracks, please contact: customerservice (AT) – we will get back to you as soon as possible.” Source.

Scale It Back (featuring Little Dragon) – Stems by djshadow

You know Little Dragon are on Spotify, right?

It was brought to my attention by Katie, visitor and long time fan and cool cat in general, that Little Dragon have created a playlist for Spotify, featuring both their own tunes and some further tracks they “dig”, too.

Below is a snap shot of the chosen songs and here’s a link to follow the path if you’re a Spotify user. “Here are some tracks we listen to at home in Gothenburg and while we’re on the road. There are a few of ours thrown in there too. We hope you dig it.”

Artwork and tracklisting for Little Dragon’s Little Man EP

Above is the astounding artwork for Little Dragon’s forthcoming Little Man EP, created by the superfluously talented Jan Scharlau. According to Peacefrog Records, the EP will feature remixes of “Little Man” by Calyx & Teebee, Chico Mann, and Dead Blonde. The EP will be available digitally from the 31st of this month. Check out the radio edit of “Little Man” below.